New Administrator for the competition

In December 2016, Katie Avey stepped down from the role of Administrator of the Competition after 14 years.   “It has been a been a marvellously interesting and enjoyable experience and I have loved working with such wonderful singers, both young competitors and more experienced jurors”- Katie.

Between December 2016 and May 2017 the Ferrier Awards were managed by Vicky Yannoula. Vicky, a graduate of the RCM and Goldsmiths College, has many years experience in musical management and administration for educational, arts and charitable organisations.

Ferrier Competition 2017


Preliminary auditions

Friday 31st March, Saturday 1st, Sunday 2nd & Monday 3rd April 2017

at The Wathen Hall, St. Paul’s School, Lonsdale Rd, London SW13 9JT 

Semi-final auditions

Wednesday 26th April 2017   at 1.30pm

at Wigmore Hall, 36 Wigmore Street, London W1U 2BP

Final auditions

Friday 28th April 2017 at 6.00pm

at Wigmore Hall, 36 Wigmore Street, London W1U 2BP

Ferrier Winners 2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

all photos by Robert Piwko

First prize
Alessandro Fisher & James Newby 

Ferrier Loveday Song Prize
Bianca Andrew

Help Musicians UK Accompanist’s prize
Ashok Gupta

At an outstandingly exciting finale to the Ferrier Competition at Wigmore Hall last night, the 1st prize was awarded to joint winners, only the 2nd time this has happened in the 61-year history of the awards.  Joint First Prizes were awarded to tenor Alessandro Fisher and baritone James Newby.

27 year old Alessandro, a modern & mediaeval languages graduate from Cambridge, studied at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and is currently singing with Glyndebourne Festival Opera.  His finals programme included operatic arias by Lalo and Flotow as well as works by Rachmaninov, Michael Head and Schubert, ending with two songs by Reynaldo Hahn.

23 year old James, the youngest competitor to reach the finals rounds, is in his last year of study at Trinity Laban Conservatoire.  He offered a programme of arias by Mozart and Britten, and songs by Schubert, Saint-Saens and Butterworth.

No second prize was therefore awarded.  The Ferrier Loveday Song Prize was given to soprano 26 year old mezzo-soprano Bianca Andrew from New Zealand, for her rendition of songs by Alvén and Wolf in her semi-final programme.

From an outstandingly strong field of pianists, Ashok Gupta won the Help Musicians UK Accompanists Prize.He studied at Clare College, Cambridge and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama before going to Birmingham Conservatoire.

Blow The Wind Southerly

Blow The Wind Southerly

The Kathleen Ferrier Awards have produced a book to celebrate the centenary of Ferrier’s birth entitled Blow The Wind Southerly which includes articles from Rupert Christiansen, Christopher Fifield and Graham Johnson; a selection of memories from people who met Kathleen or heard her sing, including John Copley, John Tooley and George Christie, and extracts from letters and diaries offering an insight into her character and the impact she had on the public. A disc featuring a selection of lesser-known recordings, spoken excerpts from Kathleen herself and interviews with fellow singers and contemporaries is also included.

Available via the Faber Music Store or Amazon price £10.99.